I spent all weekend trying to figure out what kind of dinner I would make for my family on Monday. I used all of my resources to try to find something that was different from what I normally make each week. My inspiration for this recipe came from an old photo I had saved on my phone of a gnocchi dish I had made last year. 

When I first became vegan, one of the first things that I bought make was a package of egg free gnocchi. It sat in my pantry for a long time before I remembered to use it. Now, I try to avoid foods that contain flour, so I adapted this recipe to my own needs to create a dish using the same ingredients except for the gniocchi which I replaced using hashbrowns. I did eat a small portion of the gnocchi as well and both were very delicious. I’ll post the recipe for the hashbrowns soon, too. 

As for the rest of the ingredients, I used what I had in the fridge and pantry. I’m trying to make a habit of using what I already have before I go out and buy more food that I don’t need yet. My grocery bill was much smaller this week, compared to my normal shopping that includes buying anything and everything that seems appealing to me. 
Ingredients

1 small Italian eggplant 

1 can diced tomatoes 

1 can small white beans

1 package egg free gnocchi 

3 cups fresh spinach

3 cloves garlic

Salt

Pepper

Oregano

Basil

Directions

Brown garlic in a large saucepan. 

Cut up eggplant into 1 inch pieces leaving the skin on. 

Add canned tomatoes including any liquids to the saucepan and simmer over medium heat for about 10 minutes, and seasonings and add the eggplant. Let it cook for an additional 10-15 minutes or until the eggplant is cooked. 

Bring a small pot of water to a boil and cook gnocchi for 2-3 minutes or until they float in the water, then drain and set aside. 

Rinse your beans thoroughly and add them along with the gnocchi and spinach to the saucepan. 

Cook covered until everything is heated and the spinach has wilted slightly add water if it starts to stick. 

Garnish with basil and serve immediately. 

Leave a Reply

