My recipe this week had a lot of inspiration from a new youtuber, Dillon Holmes or WellYourWorld. Watch his video here. He made an easy vegan cheese sauce that was also low fat and nut free. If you haven’t seen his videos yet, I highly recommend watching them. Not only are they very helpful, they can be really funny as well.

I had given up the idea of making any type of cheese sauce for a while since most are based off of cashews and onions, which are both allergens for me. After watching Dillon’s video, I realized that I could possibly make my own variation of his recipe without the onions that might work. I’m very happy to say that it did. I skipped the onions and miso and added in carrots, sun dried tomatoes, and curry paste. If you’re looking for a low fat, homemade cheese sauce, please check out the recipe below.


Ingredients:

3 medium sized white potatoes

2 carrots

1 sweet bell pepper (red, yellow or orange)

4 sun dried tomatoes (not the kind packed in oil)

4 cloves garlic

1/2 cup veggie broth

1/2 cup nutritional yeast

1 tablespoon yellow curry paste

1 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1 box pasta

1 cup whatever veggies you’d like to add like broccoli or peas

Directions

Chop carrots and potatoes and boil in a large pot for about 20 minutes or until soft

Chop garlic, sun dried tomatoes, and peppers and sautée in a pan with the vegetable broth, nutritional yeast, curry paste, and spices until browned

Save 1/4 cup of the water that the potatoes and carrots were boiling in and drain the rest

All all of the cooked ingredients and water to your blender and blend until smooth

Prepare pasta as per directions on packaging and steam or sautee the vegetables of your choosing

Combine all of your ingredients together in a large bowl and serve

One thought on “Easy Whole Food Vegan Mac and Cheese

  1. Well, I think I have found myself a recipe for tomorrows lunch 🙂 thank you for this great idea! I haven’t been vegan for long and new recipes are always welcome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

